Computer History

Our first computer was a Compaq computer (specifically, the SR1732IL). It was my brother, Garf (only nickname)’s computer, bought in 2006 (I forget which month and day, but, the 10th anniversary was celebrated earlier this year, before I started this blog). He played DROD (a puzzle game) and Re-Volt on that computer (after finding DROD:AE on a games collection CD) and also introduced those games to me. It had XP on it at that time. When I got a little bit older (2008) I took ownership of the computer and loved it a lot! From then onwards, I became interested in computers (and XP became my favorite Windows version). 😀 In 2008, Garf got his own computer, which came with Vista, which was then upgraded to 7 in 2009. When 7 and 8 were tried out on my computer, they ran slowly. I was forever on XP, but…

It was not forever a bed of roses (it used to be). I got my camera (Samsung PL120)… but then, my computer became slow a lot, and my hard drive started to give out, making evil clicking noises… and my computer would restart unexpectedly a lot… One fateful day, the computer wouldn’t boot; it would just say ‘Please insert proper boot device’. DUN DUN DUN! 😦 My mother took it to the repair shop and I was without it for a month, but then it was returned and all was well. 🙂 (Then Garf heard of Linux and we decided to try it out, so Garf installed Ubuntu and I preferred Linux Mint so we used that and loved it, using a virtual machine in VirtualBox for XP, while Garf dual-booted Mint with Windows 8 on his computer). A similar thing happened to my camera two times (one for screen messing up, another for lens not opening fully), and to that computer again another time… (I had to use a Linux Mint Live CD to use my computer) and then another time (had to use Lubuntu Live CD)!

Around that time (earlier this year), we got a HP laptop, installed Arch Linux easily and Windows 7 after a lot of AMD drivers hassle (the installation program didn’t work, for one), and the laptop’s what I’m using now to type this post! Yay! 😀 Now, Garf’s computer is a dual-boot of Windows 10 (crap on his computer, good on mine) and Xubuntu, while mine is a triple-boot of Windows 10 64-bit, Windows 7 32-bit and Arch Linux XFCE 64-bit. We also have an external hard drive (Seagate) for backup, and a Windows XP virtual machine in VirtualBox once more, this time on the laptop! The End! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.